bijna massale emigratie Griekse academici
#1
Nu weet ik dat de zwaardere topics op dit forum niet door iedereen gewaardeerd of gelezen worden. Mensen (en dan heb ik het niet specifiek over Oriste-leden) sluiten over het algemeen toch liever de ogen voor de moeilijke of sombere onderwerpen, wat dit ook moge zijn, en kiezen voor luchtigheid. Toch hoop ik dat sommigen van jullie wel een poging zullen wagen.

Mijn koumbara, wiens dochtertje ik heb gedoopt, is afgestudeerd wetenschapper. Zij heeft een aangrijpend stuk geschreven over de ontwikkelingen binnen haar vakgebied en dat van andere hoogopgeleiden.

Hier een paar losse stukjes daaruit:

"In 2008, after 5 years abroad as a postdoc, I decided to return home. I left the offer of a new three-year contract behind in order to return to an insecure Greek research environment. I felt I should offer something back to the Greek university system which I felt I owed a lot to. Now, two years after being elected as an assistant professor and still waiting to be appointed, I have started considering other options such as emigration, out of respect to myself both personally as well as professionally.

Given these conditions, Greek brain drain has reached alarming levels. According to a recent poll, 53% of university-age Greeks are considering emigration, and 17% have already made plans to emigrate. Greece produces large numbers of PhDs but most of them continue on to postdoctoral research abroad. This trend has peaked due to the crisis which also makes their return home very unattractive. In other words, we are facing a future where there will be no new generation to succeed the retiring researchers and academics.